Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Halocho #1279 - Is new produce a problem?

The "five grains" are wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye. 

Grain that was planted and started taking root before the first day Chol Hamoed Pessach may be eaten immediately - and is called "Yoshon" (old). 

Grain that took root thereafter is "Chodosh" (new) and may not be eaten until after the 2nd day Chol Hamoed Pessach of the coming year. This presents a problem for food made from grain that was harvested recently.

In Israel, Chol Hamoed Pessach starts on 16th Nissan, in the Diaspora on the 17th Nissan. 

According to all opinions, the Torah prohibition of eating Chodosh applies to grain grown on Jewish land. There is a minority opinion that Chodosh does not apply to grain grown in the Diaspora on non-Jewish land; the custom is to rely on this opinion in emergency. 

Source: Kitzur Shulchan Aruch 172:1-3

- Danny
Tuesday, 4 Adar-I 5774

No comments:

Post a Comment