Sunday, April 21, 2013

Halocho #1083- What's new? Chodosh and Yoshon

The "five grains" are wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye. 

Grain that was planted and started taking root before the first day Chol Hamoed Pessach may be eaten immediately - and is called "Yoshon" (old). 

Grain that took root thereafter is "Chodosh" (new) and may not be eaten until after the 2nd day Chol Hamoed Pessach of the coming year. In Israel, Chol Hamoed Pessach starts on 16th Nissan, in the Diaspora on the 17th Nissan. 

The Torah prohibition of eating Chodosh applies to grain grown on Jewish land, according to all opinions. There is a minority opinion that Chodosh does not apply to grain grown in the Diaspora on non-Jewish land; the custom is to rely on this opinion in emergency. 

Source: Kitzur Shulchan Aruch 172:1-3

- Danny
Sunday, 11 Iyar 5773 - 26th day of the Omer

No comments:

Post a Comment